Music

50 Years Of Records: 1980-1989

As I said previously, I’ve decided to take on the task of writing a five part blog post on my favourite record from each year since 1970 all the way to 2019; 50 whole years of music.
I’ve had to be hard on myself: I can only use an artist ONCE.
It’s the turn of the marvellous 80s this week. And this was HELL to compile. I think at one point, I was trying to choose between 11 albums alone for 1989.

1980: Bad Reputation by Joan Jett & The Blackhearts

Joan Jett will forever be one of my favourite women in the world. What a powerhouse. She’s the most badass woman on the planet and ‘Bad Reputation’ is a record that proves that 100%. Between the big singles on there, her cover of Lesley Gore’s ‘You Don’t Own Me’ is an underrated gem.

My highlight?: Bad Reputation. Every single time. It never gets old.

1981: Private Eyes by Hall & Oates

Full disclosure: I used to be really embarrassed to admit that I love Hall & Oates. I have no idea why. I know I was an idiot for feeling like that because they’re absolutely phenomenal. Two big singles came off this record (Private Eyes & I Can’t Go For That) but some of the best tracks are definitely the deeper cuts such as Some Men and Looking For A Good Sign. Pop done perfectly.

My highlight? Private Eyes. It’s a karaoke classic for a reason. And those hand claps? Iconic. What a track to open an album.

1982: Thriller by Michael Jackson

I knew when I got to 1982 there was no competition with this. Thriller is flawless. I remember my brother and I fighting over my mum’s mint condition vinyl of this she got when it came out. We grew up being massive MJ fans. There is not one song on here that I have the heart to skip when it comes on. I love every single fucking song on this album. The opening track, ‘Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin,’ will forever stand as one of my favourite songs to sing to. Michael’s ad-libbing is out of this world.

My highlight? I toyed with just copping out of choosing only one and saying “all of them” but Human Nature is truly special. (Billie Jean nearly beat it though)

1983: War by U2

Oh I know I’m going to get heavily judged for choosing a U2 record. I was caught between ‘War’ and ‘Speaking In Tongues’ by Talking Heads. Both bring me so much nostalgia. My dad spoke so highly of both bands (only early U2 though) that it was only natural that I dug deeper into their back catalogues when I got older. ‘War’ is a brilliant album. Imagine opening an album with a song like ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’?! The sheer brilliance U2 brought to the world in the 80s was unreal.

My highlight? New Year’s Day. I just adore it. Always have, always will.

1984: Purple Rain by Prince

My heart crumbled when Prince left this world 4 1/2 years ago. I love every single song Prince has ever done and I’m still discovering songs all the time because the man was just a songwriting machine. The man was the definition of a genius. Again, every song on this record is a masterpiece. That holy trinity of Darling Nikki, When Doves Cry and I Would Die 4 U right in the middle of the record? Untouchable.

My highlight? Let’s Go Crazy. One of my favourite album openers of all time. “Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today to get through this thing called ‘life'” still sends chills down my spine. There will never be another one quite like Prince.

1985: Hounds Of Love by Kate Bush

I remember the first time I saw the wonder that is Kate Bush on television for the first time; I must’ve been no older than 4 years old. It was an old episode of Top Of The Pops and she was doing Wuthering Heights. That voice blew my fucking mind. As I got older, I realised a lot of the females I was looking up to in music cited Kate Bush as a huge influence and I fell harder and faster in love with her. I listen to this record all the time because it just transports me far away from everything else. A queen forever.

My highlight?: Running Up That Hill. There is no song in the world that I wish I wrote more than this. The 80s had flawless album openers because they all seem to be my favourite tracks.

1986: Graceland by Paul Simon

You need cheering up? Throw on Graceland and you will be the happiest human being for a whole 45 minutes. Believe me. ‘Graceland,’ ‘The Boy In The Bubble’ and ‘You Can Call Me Al’ went on to be massive singles from this record. Some of my favourites actually, but the deep cuts are also just brilliant. Paul recorded this in South Africa and you can just feel that throughout the entire album. It’s just a truly iconic record.

My highlight? Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes. You cannot be unhappy when you hear that song. It’s just not possible.

1987: Kick by INXS

My favourite record of the 80s. Hands down. Easy. Michael Hutchence is a huge reason why I dress, sing and write the way I do. Another band my dad was a huge fan of, it was the first album he really urged me to buy. And my GOD, am I eternally grateful for that. I must listen to this album at least three to four times a week? It’s just that fucking unbelievably perfect. Opening with ‘Guns In The Sky’ and then hitting through major hit singles ‘Need You Tonight,’ ‘New Sensation,’ and ‘Never Tear Us Apart.’ There clearly is no such thing as a lacklustre song on this whole album.

My highlight? Devil Inside. Another song I’m desperately sad to say I didn’t write. A banger. It was so difficult to choose. Mystify nearly pipped it to the post.

1988: Surfer Rosa by Pixies

I think everyone can remember where they were when they first heard ‘Where Is My Mind?’ That song changed my life. Surfer Rosa is a beautiful record. With tracks like ‘Gigantic’ and ‘Cactus,’ this album was the perfect precursor to what was going to happen a few years later in the early 90s with alternative rock. Pixies were pivotal in music. A lot of your favourite bands wouldn’t exist without them.

My highlight? Where Is My Mind? Yes, it’s predictable but few songs are more gorgeous than this.

1989: Disintegration by The Cure

Out of all the bands my dad listened to when I was a kid, no band stuck out to me more than The Cure. Robert Smith was the most enigmatic and strangest looking person I’d ever seen and I was legitimately fascinated by him. I love every Cure record but Disintegration truly is the best. I got to witness The Cure live a whole 30 years after they released this and they’re still on top form. I wouldn’t have written a lot of the songs I have if it wasn’t for this album in particular. Could you imagine having just one album that has tracks such as ‘Plainsong,’ ‘Pictures Of You’ and ‘Lullaby’?! Pure genius. My second favourite record of the 80s. Without a shadow of a doubt.

My highlight? Fascination Street. That bassline alone would’ve sold me but the entire song is just 5 minutes of pure and utter greatness.

I’ll be uploading my 90s blog in a week’s time. Get your ears around these albums. The 80s was pure bliss.

Thank you for reading! 

Claire x

Leave a comment