Music

50 Years Of Records: 1990-1999

Part Three is here. I’ve decided to take on the task of writing a five part blog post on my favourite record from each year since 1970 all the way to 2019; 50 whole years of music.
I’ve had to be hard on myself: I can only use an artist ONCE. 
It’s the turn of the 90s this week. The first decade I’m writing about that I was actually alive for a whole 4 years of! Again, years such as 1991, 1994 & 1996 that were absolute hell to try and decide which album was my ultimate favourite. Enjoy:

1990: Violator by Depeche Mode

My first memory of Depeche Mode was probably 2000/2001(?) and the video for ‘Enjoy The Silence’ came on TV and my dad said “Did you know Dave Gahan died for a few minutes and then was brought back to life?” and it’s become something that we both HAVE to say anytime Depeche Mode gets mentioned to this day. There a band I would love to see live if I’m honest. I bought ‘Violator’ about 10 years ago now and I hate the fact I waited so long to get properly into them. It’s a beautifully produced collection of songs.

My highlight?: Enjoy The Silence. It reminds me so much of my childhood.

1991: Ten by Pearl Jam

Possibly my favourite record of the 90s ever? What a fucking blinder of a debut album this is. From Eddie’s snarling, chill-inducing vocals to Mike’s insane guitar work, ‘Ten’ is a work of art, and I could write for days about this one album. From the heartbreaking beauty of ‘Black’ and ‘Release’ to the sheer frenetic gems like ‘Once’ and ‘Why Go,’ there’s something for everyone on this record. The singles are all brilliant, obviously, but the deep cuts is where the utter genius of this album lies.

My highlight?: Why Go. Lyrically, I wish I could write something half as good as this. Musically, it makes me wanna go back in time and join that mosh pit at Pinkpop in ’92.

1992: Rage Against The Machine by Rage Against The Machine

No record has gained more relevance through time more than this has. Have you seen the state of the world? This is the perfect soundtrack. 28 years on and every track still resonates with the state of affairs right now. Tom Morello’s best guitar work of his career (he’s a genius, but this record just shows you WHY he’s still the greatest guitarist of the last 30 years.) Another album with not a single bang-average song on it. Every song is stacked to the rafters with riffs, spat out political truths & some of the best drum and bass work you’ll ever hear (god bless Tim and Brad!)

My highlight? Township Rebellion. “Why stand on a silent platform? Fight the war. Fuck the norm” will forever be some of my favourite lyrics. There’s also some INCREDIBLE cowbell work in this and I’m a sucker for a cowbell. Just an insanely huge track, this.

1993: In Utero by Nirvana

I know most people would probably choose ‘Nevermind’ as their top Nirvana album. And I don’t judge that one bit. But ‘In Utero’ is just so much more raw, powerful and perfectly imperfect in my opinion. With ‘kick you in the face’ tracks like ‘Scentless Apprentice’ and ‘Tourette’s,’ which is still some of Dave Grohl’s greatest ever drum work of his career, to the more subdued nature of ‘Pennyroyal Tea’ and ‘Dumb,’ I personally think this record is the best work Kurt Cobain ever produced. Lyrically, it’s so fucking dark, you knew this guy wasn’t in a good place. You FEEL that when you listen to ‘In Utero.’ I wouldn’t have been able to write a lot of songs that I have done in my life without this album existing. And I thank Kurt everyday for it.

My highlight? All Apologies. An obvious choice? Perhaps. But you can’t really beat this. Especially as an album closer. Spectacular.

1994: Superunknown by Soundgarden

I wouldn’t exist without this album. I honestly would not be alive right now if it wasn’t for this record. This album is a 15 track piece of perfection. I have never made it through the whole of ‘Superunknown’ without bursting into tears at least once. That’s how powerful that specific concoction of music and lyrics is. Chris Cornell’s vocals are unparalleled forever anyway, but this album is his best work. Period. Yeah, it has the singles like ‘Black Hole Sun’ and ‘Spoonman,’ which are the two first Soundgarden tracks I ever heard as a kid. I even have a Black Hole Sun tattoo. Musically, this album is something else but lyrically, it’s sheer genius. There’s nothing more I can add to that. It’s the darkness of depression, the fear of anxiety and the curse of addiction all flawlessly, yet heartbreakingly, rolled into one perfect rock album.

My highlight? The Day I Tried To Live. If I had to do this tomorrow, I’d probably choose a different song. But right now? This song is Soundgarden at their very best. A once in a lifetime band.

1995: Jagged Little Pill by Alanis Morissette

There’s a reason why this record sold over 33 million copies worldwide. It’s perfect. No one will ever match Alanis’ power. Alanis has one of the most distinctive voices of all time, and I don’t know how many times I’ve listened to this album, but her voice still sends chills down my body. There’s no better aggressive break-up song in history than ‘You Oughta Know’ and that’s just a fact. (Sorry T-Swift fans!) The tracklist is just phenomenal. Another 90s album with no single bad song on it. She produced what people like me could only dream of doing in our lifetime. Not just a gem of a 90s album, but a jewel in the crown of the greatest albums of all time.

My highlight?: Hand In My Pocket. Again, if you asked me tomorrow, I’d probably choose something else, but this is just something else. Quintessential Alanis.

1996: Unplugged by Alice In Chains

The 90s truly blessed us with some of the darkest characters with the most otherworldly voices. Layne Staley was a gift. That voice wasn’t human. Their studio records are brilliant, and I didn’t want to use a live album, but this MTV Unplugged was just a bit too special not to include on this list. To hear that voice in a stripped back setting still brings me to tears. This is a truly beautiful and haunting album, and I really do hope I put at least one person who reads this onto listening to this because you won’t regret it.

My highlight? Would? Everytime. It just never gets old. That intro. Those vocals in the chorus. Complete and utter flawlessness.

1997: OK Computer by Radiohead

One of the first bands my dad ever put me onto, and I’m forever grateful for that. (Still mentally scarred over the Street Spirit video! I was only three or four, don’t judge! It still spooks me!) I definitely don’t think I’d be the person I am today without Radiohead, and especially without this album. I don’t call many albums “masterpieces” but this one truly deserves that accolade. Every time I listen to it in its entirety, the scenes I end up creating in my head…god, it’s just the most beautiful soundtrack to the mess that is life. I also wake up every morning wishing I wrote the lyrics of ‘No Surprises’ because that is pure lyrical genius. God bless Thom Yorke.

My highlight?: Paranoid Android. I think seeing it live solidified its status as my favourite Radiohead track of all time. Genius. A work of art. *insert all of the compliments here* because it’s just THAT good.

1998: Without You I’m Nothing by Placebo

This album is just SO wonderfully 90s, but it still stands the test of time. I’ve loved Placebo for most of my life. There’s no voice quite like Brian Molko’s. There’s also no band quite like Placebo. Imagine getting David fucking Bowie to add vocals to the title track for your SECOND ALBUM (the single version that is! He loved it so much, they recorded a version with Bowie!) That’s power. That’s talent. A band far too many people sleep on. They are still releasing brilliant music to this day, and that’s not an easy feat for a band who’s been going for almost 30 years. Get your ears around this album. It’s a must.

My highlight?: Every You Every Me. It’s still my go-to Placebo song. A classic.

1999: There Is Nothing Left To Lose by Foo Fighters

I treasure every single memory I have of the Foo Fighters. They’re one of the very first bands I remember falling in love with and realising they were going to be a special part of my life forever. From the first time I saw the goofy as fuck video for ‘Learn To Fly’ as a toddler to the first time I got to witness Dave Grohl mere feet away from me, they’ve soundtracked some of the highest highs and the lowest of lows in my life. This album is my personal favourite of theirs. From the HUGE record openers of ‘Stacked Actors’ & ‘Breakout’ to the deeper, and arguably some of their best, tracks like ‘Next Year’ and ‘Ain’t It The Life,’ you could lock me in a room for the rest of my life with this album on repeat and I would never complain. It’s that much of a genius record in my eyes. The power of Dave Grohl is unmatched. A true legend.

My highlight? Learn To Fly. Obviously. I have a goddamn tattoo for that song, I really wasn’t going to choose anything else, was I? My introduction to Foos and it’s still one of my all time favourite tracks in the world.

Thank you for letting me rave about my personal favourite albums of the 90s. I hope you discover (or revisit) something beautiful for yourself.

Claire x

Leave a comment