Music

50 Years Of Records: 1970-1979

Sorry it’s been a solid 4 months since I last posted. I’ve felt so uninspired, low and at a complete and utter loss over what to write.
I’ve decided to take on this mammoth task of writing a five part blog post on my favourite record from each year since 1970 all the way to 2019. 50 whole years of music.
I’ve had to be hard on myself: I can only use an artist ONCE. If I didn’t do that, this entire post would just be Queen, Led Zeppelin, Aerosmith, Bowie, Soundgarden, Muse & Foo Fighters.
You’re probably wondering why 2020 isn’t on there, and it’s because I always do a ‘Top 10 Albums of…’ in December of each year and there’s still so many records to come out between now and then so I’m saving it for that!
I hope you enjoy this wee journey into the some of the greatest records of all time and I urge you all to listen to them because they all hold such a dear place in my heart.

1970: Paranoid by Black Sabbath

There is not one bad thing about this record. How can there be when they open their album with fucking WAR PIGS?! It’s just pure perfection. From Ozzy’s snarling vocals, Tony’s unbelievable riffs, Geezer’s iconic basslines and Bill’s instantly recognisable drumming, you’ll be hard pressed to find a better heavy metal record.

My highlight?: WAR FUCKING PIGS.

1971: Led Zeppelin IV by Led Zeppelin

Robert Plant’s spine-tingling vocals were one of the first things I ever remembering hearing as a child. Growing up in a household where music was celebrated was a bonus, but my mum definitely favoured Queen & Led Zeppelin over everyone else. Thank god. Led Zeppelin IV is a masterclass in rock & roll. There was no band in history tighter than Plant, Page, Jones & Bonham. If you don’t instantly think of Led Zeppelin when someone mentions classic rock, then I really don’t know what’s wrong with you because they will forever be the epitome of rock. The greatest.

My highlight? Stairway To Heaven because…it’s Stairway To Heaven. It never gets old. Although, When The Levee Breaks nearly pipped it.

1972: The Rise & Fall Of Ziggy Stardust & The Spiders From Mars // David Bowie

There’s few albums I absolutely 100% urge everyone to own a copy of, but this is one of them. Everyone needs to own this because it’s one of my favourite bodies of work in history. Bowie was out of this world. It’s true what they say; the world truly has gone to shit since he left this place. I truly adore nearly every Bowie record, but this one is just super special to me; there’s not one song I would ever dream of skipping.

My highlight? Moonage Daydream. Without a doubt my favourite Bowie song forever.

1973: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road // Elton John

Fun fact: Elton John was my first ever gig at the age of 11. I have to thank my dad for that because without that show, I don’t think I would even have half the appreciation for Elton’s back catalogue that I do now. I listen to this record a lot, especially when I’m writing myself, and it still blows my mind just how many fucking massive HITS are on one single album. Elton also makes me so angry because I realise just how shit I am at piano when I listen to his songs. A mastermind.

My highlight: The title track: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road. It’s pop perfection.

1974: Get Your Wings by Aerosmith

Oh Aerosmith. I’ve been in an imaginary relationship with Steven Tyler since I can remember. I wish I was kidding. I am so madly in love with this whole band and will be until the end of time. I remember the first time I heard that insane voice/scream/falsetto, I must’ve been three or four (I was watching Mrs Doubtfire, obviously!) and they’ve been in my life ever since. Hearing that voice in the flesh (twice, may I add, and I still live to tell the tale!) is unbelievable. They’re in their fucking 70s and put most modern bands to shame with their live performances. 1974 was a bleak year for albums but Get Your Wings is brilliant.

My highlight? Same Old Song & Dance. It showcases just how brilliant each member of Aerosmith truly are.

1975: A Night At The Opera by Queen

Ah, I finally get to rave about my favourite album from the 20th century. Living in a household with a mother who had not only seen Queen twice and TOUCHED Freddie Mercury’s leg, but MET THE GODDAMN BAND, you weren’t allowed to go without your daily dose of Queen. This record is flawless. I could write essays upon essays about this album (but I won’t, don’t worry!) Yes, it houses Bohemian Rhapsody, and that sadly overshadows the sheer beauty of songs like ’39, The Prophet’s Song, Lazing On A Sunday Afternoon and my personal favourite, Death On Two Legs. I think I’ve managed to listen to Queen every single day since I can remember. They’ve been such a massive part of my life and they always will be. What a fucking beautiful band.

My highlight: Death On Two Legs. It’s the greatest ‘fuck you’ song of all time. No question.

1976: Dreamboat Annie by Heart

Ann and Nancy Wilson are queens. Before “Seattle Bands” became a big thing in the early 90s, Heart were Seattle. I wouldn’t have been able to write a lot of the stuff I’ve written without the Wilson sisters. Which is the absolute truth. Ann and Nancy are criminally underrated. Ann’s voice is ridiculous and Nancy is still a guitar hero, she’d still put most of these young ones to shame. You’ll see later on in the blog that I would die for Stevie Nicks and Joan Jett but Ann & Nancy are the true originals for me. Dreamboat Annie is absolute perfection and it’s just pure 70s. The ultimate driving album. Imagine being able to open your record with a track like ‘Magic Man.’ Flawless.

My highlight? Crazy On You. There’s few songs I wish I could’ve written more than this. I listen to it every single day. It’s just THAT good.

1977: Rumours by Fleetwood Mac

As if I would’ve chosen anything else for ’77? Rumours IS 1977 for me. I just love how messy, drama-laden and honest this album is. I don’t know how many times I’ve watched the ‘Classic Albums’ episode about this record but it reels me in every single time because two broken down relationships within one band is just so tragic yet hilarious to me. Every song is perfect. Stevie and Christine’s voices were some of the first female vocals I remember hearing and they weren’t perfect, which made me think “oh, maybe I can do this then!”

My highlight? You Make Loving Fun. I know, I didn’t choose a massive single off the album, but it’s my favourite Fleetwood Mac song after Big Love. Christine is a star on this.

1978: Parallel Lines by Blondie

Debbie Harry is a queen and Parallel Lines lies in pop record royalty for all time. It was my dad that got me into Blondie when I was super young, and I remember hearing One Way Or Another in what seemed like every “revenge” scene in a TV show or movie as a young child. Between that and tracks such as Hanging On The Telephone, Heart Of Glass and I’m Gonna Love You Too, I just think this album is brilliant. So many riffs and melodies on Parallel Lines remind me so much of the first couple of Ramones albums, which I also adore. Melodic perfection.

My highlight? One Way Or Another. I will never tire of that song.

1979: Damn The Torpedoes by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

When I think of the Sound City studios, this is the record I think of first. If you haven’t watched Sound City, do it because it’s the best music documentary I’ve ever seen and I’ve watched it at least 50 times in the last 7 years. Damn The Torpedoes is my favourite Heartbreakers album, and always will be. I could listen to it all day. Tom’s voice was so insanely unique and I miss him everyday.

My highlight? Refugee. Always and forever. What a song. What an album opener. Another song I listen to every single day. Absolutely brilliant.

I’ll HOPEFULLY get the 80s albums up in the next few days. Get your ears around these albums first. You won’t be disappointed.

Thank you for reading!

Claire x

Leave a comment